Advisory Board

The Advisory Board serves two purposes: providing new ideas and insights to both CTL Board of Directors and staff; and serving as a candidate pool for future Board of Directors. The term is 18 months and involves face-to-face and virtual meetings.

Dr. Brenda Overturf, Literacy Specialist and Consultant, Literacy Perspectives
Dr. Overturf has worked with CTL as a partner in Striving Readers, during her time at University of Louisville, and is now a private consultant with extensive literacy experience.

Dr. Jerry Johnson, Chair, Department of Teacher Education and Educational Leadership, University of North Florida
Dr. Johnson has been a partner with the Regional Ed Lab Appalachia and has advised CTL on i3 grant applications; he is an expert on issues related to rural schools and school administration. Formerly at Ohio University, he is now at the University of North Florida in the department of Leadership, School Counseling and Sport Management.

Mr. Kevin Connelly, Retired, Center for Non-Profit Excellence
Mr. Connelly is a non-profit leader and his organization helped CTL during our recent strategic planning process.

Mr. Steven Hope, Principal Penn High School, Indiana
Mr. Hope works with CTL on an Adolescent Literacy Model initiative along with the middle schools in his district.  He is an excellent instructional leader and brings the school perspective to the Advisory Board.

Ms. Cindy Parker, Retired, Kentucky Department of Education
Ms. Parker is Literacy Coordinator for the Kentucky Department of Education and a long-time partner with CTL, most recently with the Striving Readers Project. She brings both literacy and state agency experience to the Advisory Board.

Dr. Ralph Fitzpatrick, Associate Vice President for Community Engagement, University of Louisville
Dr. Fitzpatrick served as the Principal Investigator for GEAR UP KY, Univ. of Louisville region and is an expert in educational policy, diversity and community outreach issues.  He is now on loan from the University of Louisville to lead efforts to restore Simmons College to its former pre-eminence as a historically black college offering a full range of academic degrees.

Ms. Jennifer White, Classroom Teacher, East Jessamine HS
Ms. White is an outstanding classroom teacher and a participant in the Striving Readers Project. She brings literacy and instructional expertise to the Advisory Board as well as classroom perspective.

Dr. Harrie Buecker, Liaison for District and School Partnerships, CEHD, University of Louisville
Dr. Buecker is the former superintendent for the Franklin County School District and now works at the university level to engage schools in efforts to improve student achievement.

Mr. Danny Osborne, Certified Improvement Specialist/Education Recovery Leader, Kentucky Department of Education District 180
Mr. Osborne works with turnaround schools in Jefferson County as part of a state level effort to boost achievement and promote college readiness.

Ms. Allison Hunt, Classroom Teacher, DuPont Manual HS & Hope Street Fellow
Ms. Hunt teaches AP Geography and Law and Justice at DuPont Manual High School in Jefferson County. She was the 2013 Kentucky High School Teacher of the Year and is also a Hope Street Fellow, part of a national network of teacher leaders who influence educational policy on the national level.

Dr. Eve Proffitt, Director of Education Innovation P20 Kentucky Innovation labs, University of Kentucky
Dr. Proffitt, a former CTL Board of Directors member, co-directs the P20 Innovation Labs at UK, collaborating with school districts throughout the state to rethink current policies, practices and programs to support 21st century learning, and to ensure that students are college and career ready. She also has deep experience as a K-12 educator and administrator with expertise in special education.

Ms. Kathy Fields, Superintendent, Jessamine County Public Schools
Ms. Fields, a former CTL Board of Directors member, is the Superintendent of Jessamine County Schools. She served previously as chief academic officer for the district, and was instrumental in turning around low performing schools. Her association with CTL dates to when she was a principal and part of both the Accelerated Schools Network and Different Ways of Knowing.



Designed by VIA Studio